Chocolate Almond Fruit Dip

You won’t see me cooking up many vegan eats, not because they aren’t delicious (Sailin’ On Food Truck is proof of that!) but because I really just love all carbs and dairy…yep all of ‘em!

However, when I came across this recipe for Chocolate Almond Fruit Dip I started salivating immediately! Technically this recipe is like a vegan chocolate hummus, but I think that sounds a little nasty so we’re calling it Chocolate Almond Fruit Dip to be sneaky and trick everyone into thinking it’s not healthy or vegan. All you need to make this dip is a food processor, blender, or Magic Bullet and some fruit for dipping, as well as the following ingredients for the dip itself:

  • ¼c Almonds
  • 5 Pitted Dates
  • ½c Chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • ¼c Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 2tsp Real Maple Syrup
  • 1tsp Vanilla Extract
  • ¼tsp Cinnamon
  • ½c Vanilla Almond Milk

First get the almonds in the food processor (I used my Magic Bullet) and whiz that up until you get almond butter (it’ll take a few minutes and look kind of like peanut butter). Then add all the other ingredients and whiz up until smooth. You can also play with the amount of chickpeas to get a thicker or thinner consistency.

ChocoAlmondFruitDip

I swear to God I served this to my parents and fiancé last night and everyone thought it was the fruit dip you can buy in the grocery store so I’m counting this one as a big win! It’s chocolate-y and rich (you could even add some natural peanut butter if you think you could handle that much deliciousness) and pairs perfectly with strawberries. Best of all it is actually pretty healthy and low calorie so you don’t have to feel bad about having a late night snack.

For the detailed nutrition information and original recipe click here.

Oh and my Mom thought my tactic for getting the ‘right angle’ in my photo was pretty hilarious – she took this photo of me taking a photo…inception styles! So just know when you see pictures on my Instagram account this is what is happening behind the scenes!

Processed with Moldiv

Cheers!

One thought on “Chocolate Almond Fruit Dip

Leave a Reply

