Cooking for Cocktail’s Must Have Kitchen Gadgets

Hello Treasured Readers (Mom),

My apologies for my hiatus! I have been off travelling the world and eating ALL of the béchamel. For the past couple of weeks the Ol’ Ball and Chain and I have been enjoying the sights, sounds, and flavours of Sweden (Stockholm and Gothenburg) and Iceland (Reykjavík). Now believe me I have A LOT to tell you about all of the deliciousness that befell me during this time but in the midst of my jet lag I have not yet found the energy to write a blog that captures the magnitude of the noms that were had SO in the meantime I have a bit of a musing for you…

I had a conversation with a friend the other day about the frustrations of cooking and all of the tools necessary to prepare a meal – grinders, slicers/dicers, strawberry hullers etc. and I thought to myself, “well that’s just bullshit!”. To make tasty, easy, beautiful food you really don’t need all these fancy bells and whistles. There are some kitchen basics (pots, pans, sharp knives) and some handy electronic tools that really make life easier (blender, food processor, slow cooker) but a lot of the other kitchen gadgets although kinda cool are really just toys to play with in kitchen. Here are my ‘Must-Haves’ when it comes to kitchen gadgets:

  • Microplane to zest citrus – I would say I use my Mircoplane at least once a week, citrus zest adds amazing flavour to food and cocktails and you can use the zest as a fancy garish.

microplane-zester-grater-40020

  • Citrus Juicer – I absolutely love this gadget! You can get a crap ton of juice out of your citrus this way and you’re not trying to capture seeds in your hands (and this will save your life if, God forbid, you have a paper cut when you go to squeeze a lemon!).

citrus-juicer

  • Garlic Press – I hate when my hands smell like garlic for 17 days after cooking with it so I love my garlic press. Invest in a really good one and you don’t even have to peel the garlic just pop the whole clove into the press and away you go!

Garlic pres

Now I know there are some folks out there who love them some kitchen gadgets, in which case check out this article on the 7 Best New Kitchen Gadgets and please let me know how often you plan to use your “Yoker” in the next 3 months.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Cooking for Cocktail’s Must Have Kitchen Gadgets

  1. As soon as I saw the title I thought “garlic press”!! Definite must-have. If coffee paraphernalia were to be included, I’d also say a grinder and a French press. I’ll have to think about other kitchen gadgets though…

Leave a Reply

