Meatless Monday: Lemon Ricotta Pasta with Mint & Edamame

I just want to make one thing clear here – I LOVE meat! I know I’ve been rockin’ a lot of meatless dishes lately but I am no vegetarian. I love bacon and steak and roast chicken and spicy salami and burgers and I could go on but your time is valuable so I’ll get to the point.

Point is, you can love meat and not eat it at every meal, not only is this healthier (as long as you keep in mind that getting protein from other nonmeat sources is still super important!) but I actually find incorporating more veggie meals cheaper as well.

My (world’s greatest!) Dad is more of a “meat and potatoes” kinda guy so I grew up eating lots of meats and more traditional meals, it’s a bit of a foodie adventure for me to explore the different kinds of meatless dishes out there and this is one of my absolute faves!

I’ve been making this dish for years and it’s become one of my main go to meals. I love the creamy ricotta contrasted by the crisp mint and fresh lemon. Weirdly, one of my favorite things about this recipe is the sound it makes – when you’re stirring everything together just have a listen; that smacking sound of creamy pasta = sublime!

Lemon Ricotta Pasta2

Here’s what you’ll need for 4 servings:

  • Any Kind of Pasta (about a ½ Cup or 2 oz. per serving)
  • 2 Cups Ricotta
  • 1 Lemon, zested
  • Mint, chopped
  • Green Onion, chopped
  • 2 Cups of Frozen Edamame or Peas
  • Parmesan

This dish comes together in a hot minute so get everything ready while you are waiting for the pasta water to boil, which brings me to step one…cook pasta according to package direction and reserve a cup of the cooking water.

Place your frozen edamame in the bottom of your strainer and then drain the pasta over top (pretty smart huh!). Toss the works into the hot pot (taken off the heat), mix in your ricotta, lemon zest, a squeeze of lemon juice, and some of the pasta water and give everything a stir. Season with salt and pepper (you might want to go heavier on the salt, I find ricotta needs a little extra zip) and mix in a few tablespoons of mint and green onion just before you serve.

Garnish with some grated parmesan and another sprinkle of mint.

Lemon Ricotta Pasta

Don’t be afraid to change it up either – don’t have mint? Basil would be delicious! Not a fan of peas? How about some chopped tomatoes? Use recipes like this as a template for flavours you love (or have on hand) and have some fun with it, gawd it’s just dinner people!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

