Baked Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

I ain’t done with pumpkin spice just yet!

You may recall my recent confession in the Bourbon Molasses Apple Pie post that I am not much of a baker, however; after my apple pie fail I was on a quest for redemption! I scoured Pinterest for a recipe that could turn this hot mess into a baking goddess (you like that rhyme eh? Not gonna lie that one took me a while to come up with). It needed to be a straightforward, no nonsense kind of recipe that could mend my broken spirit and impress a special dinner guest.

Friends, I found it! Redemption tastes sweet (and cinnamon-y…YUM)! My attempt at Cooking Classy’s Pumpkin Doughnuts was a raging success! These doughnuts have a moist cakey texture which I love and were delicious on their own OR with some of my fave Cococo Chocolatiers gelato.

Doughnuts Stack

Here is what you’ll need to whip up a batch of Baked Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts and impress the pants off of your friends:

  • A doughnut baking pan ($15 – 20, available at most specialty cooking store…and probably Winners)
  • 1¾ c + 2 Tbsp All Purpose Flour (Why the 2 extra tablespoons you ask? I have no idea, just go with it!)
  • 1¾ tsp Baking Powder
  • 1¼ tsp Salt
  • ¾ tsp Cinnamon
  • ½ tsp Nutmeg
  • ½ tsp Powdered Ginger
  • ¾ c Brown Sugar (Packed)
  • ½ c Canola Oil
  • 3 Large Eggs
  • 1½ c Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

For the Cinnamon Sugar Coating

  • ¼ c Sugar
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp Melted Butter

Here we go, I’m so excited I can barely contain myself!

Preheat that oven to 350 and grease up your doughnut pan (this will make about 16-18 doughnuts, I only have one pan so I did them in batches).

Shift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and spices in a medium mixing bowl.

In a large mixing bowl whisk together the ‘wet’ ingredients; brown and regular sugar (I know, technically not “wet”…this is why baking and I don’t always get along), oil, eggs, pumpkin, and vanilla. Mix until smooth, no clumps please.

Add the dry mix to the wet, I like to do this slowly so dump in about a 1/3 of the dry and mix to combine, then another 1/3 and mix, and then the rest and mix it all up until smooth.

To fill the doughnut wells spoon the batter into a large plastic bag and snip of a bit of the corner . Squeeze about a ¼ cup of batter into each well (they’ll be around ¾ full).  Bake for about 15 minutes.

While the doughnuts are baking mix together the cinnamon and sugar and set aside.

Remove doughnuts from pan (a good whack should do it) and place on a wire rack (or plate…whatevs) to cool.

Once the doughnuts are mostly cooled you can brush the tops with melted butter and then press into the cinnamon sugar.

And that’s all she wrote…BOOM!

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

